The Georgia Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in Georgia are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.
Georgia statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 16 who is not their spouse. While no close in age exemptions exist in Georgia, if the offender is under age 19 and the victim is no more than 4 years younger, the offense is classified as a misdemeanor rather than a felony.
Call us at 678.324.8511;
E-mail us at email@example.com; or
Click here to schedule a consultation.