A shoplifting offense will result in a misdemeanor conviction in the state of Georgia where the value of the shoplifted property is $300 or less.
However, a shoplifting offense will constitute a felony under Georgia law if:
the value of the shoplifted property is more than $300, or
the property is stolen from three separate stores in the same county within a seven-day period, and the property that is the subject of each theft is worth at least $100.
For an offender’s second shoplifting offense, the court will impose a fine of at least $250, either in addition to or instead of a sentence of imprisonment.
Upon a third shoplifting offense in Georgia, an offender will receive a sentence of imprisonment of 30 days, or an alternative sentence of confinement, such as home detention, for a period of 120 days, and may be ordered to receive psychological evaluation or treatment at the offender’s expense.
Upon a fourth or subsequent shoplifting offense, the offender shall receive a sentence of imprisonment of at least one year, which is not eligible to suspended, and a maximum of ten years.
If you or a loved one are facing a shoplifting charge, contact us to begin mounting an aggressive defense.
Call us at 678.324-8511;
E-mail us at Info@LawrenceLegal.Law; or
Click here to schedule a consultation.