When a theft offense involves property valued at $500 or less, the crime is punishable as a misdemeanor in Georgia. Punishment for a misdemeanor includes a fine of no more than $1,000 and a sentence of imprisonment of no more than 12 months. If an offender receives a sentence of six months or less, it is within the authority and discretion of the sentencing judge to allow the sentence to be served via weekend confinement or during the offender’s nonworking hours.
If the theft offense involves property valued at more than $500, the crime is punishable as a felony, or as a misdemeanor, at the judge’s discretion. If theft is charged as a felony, the theft charge carries a sentence of imprisonment of not less than one year and not more than ten years. The other circumstances under which a theft is punishable as a felony in Georgia include:
- theft of anhydrous ammonia (one to ten years of imprisonment)
- theft involving the breach of a fiduciary relationship (one to 15 years of imprisonment, and/or a fine)
- theft of government or bank property, by an employee (one to 15 years of imprisonment, and/or a fine)
- theft involving a gravesite or cemetery decoration (one to three years of imprisonment)
- theft of a motor vehicle or vehicle part worth more than $100 (one to 10 years of imprisonment)
- theft committed while telemarketing, using a computer or computer network, or engaging in home repair or improvement (one to 10 years of imprisonment),
- theft of a destructive device, explosive, or firearm (one to 10 years of imprisonment).
If you or a loved one are facing felony theft charges in Georgia, contact us.
Call us at 678.324-8511;
E-mail us at Info@LawrenceLegal.Law; or
Click here to schedule a consultation.