The Georgia code § 16-6-3 defines two degrees of the crime statutory rape, each with associated punishments. The degree of the punishment depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Statutory Rape – Charge Description||Punishment|
|If victim under age of 16 not a spouse of the offender and victim is 14-15, and offender is no more than three years older than victim||Jail time not to exceed 12 months and/or a fine not to exceed $1,000.00|
Georgia law allows statutory rape to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Georgia Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Call us at 678.324.8511;
E-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org; or
Click here to schedule a consultation.