FORGOT YOUR DETAILS?

Hot Cars and Children in Georgia

Pediatric vehicular heatstroke (PVH) kills dozens of children every year in the United States. These tragic deaths are all preventable. Regardless of how quick you think the errand will be, do not leave your children alone in the car. A child should not die because someone misjudged how long the line would be in a store.

Ways to prevent a child from getting heatstroke in your car:

  • Never leave your child alone in the car.
  • Do not leave your car unlocked. Some children have died from PVH because they were playing and sneaked into an unlocked vehicle.
  • Call 911 every time you see a child alone in a car.
  • If your child goes to daycare, set an audible alarm on your cell phone to double-check that you did not leave the child in the car. Also, set up a protocol that the daycare center will call you if they do not receive your child on time.
  • Place an item that you must have for work in the back seat of the car, next to your child. Your phone, wallet, purse, briefcase, or one of your shoes are objects that you are unlikely to forget to grab before getting out of the car.
  • Use high-tech devices like rear seat reminders and car seat “smart” chips to alert you if there is a child in the rear seat or that you should check the back seat of your car.

Safe Drivers

One of the best ways to protect your child in a car or truck is to make sure she only rides with safe drivers. Make and always follow family rules so that your child does not ride with a driver who is:

  • Impaired by alcohol, prescriptions medication, or other drugs
  • Drowsy
  • In the habit of texting, speeding, engaging in road rage, or any other type of unsafe, distracted driving.
  • Young and inexperienced.

Call us at 678.324-8511;

E-mail us at Info@LawrenceLegal.Law; or 

Click here to schedule a consultation.

Under Georgia law, your child must wear a seat belt at all times when traveling in a motor vehicle, if he is between the ages of 8 and 18 years and is 4 feet 9 inches tall or more. A child younger than 8 or under 4 feet 9 inches tall must ride in the child car seat or booster seat that is appropriate for her size and age.

Your child should follow the Georgia seat belt laws and always wear the correct child safety restraint device (seat belt, car set, or booster seat) at all times whenever riding:

  • With any member of your household;
  • With anyone who is not a member of your household; and
  • In a school bus or on public transportation.

Call us at 678.324-8511;

E-mail us at Info@LawrenceLegal.Law; or 

Click here to schedule a consultation.

Georgia Hit And Run Laws (Part 2)

 

What to Do after a Hit and Run Accident

Get as much information about the other vehicle as possible. Make note of it or ask someone else to record the details. A license plate number makes it easier to track down the driver. But even without that, a description of the vehicle can help.

A description of the vehicle includes:

  • color;
  • make;
  • model;
  • damage; and
  • other distinguishing marks (e.g., rust).

Also write down anything about the driver or passengers in the vehicle. A description of the people can sometimes help in finding the responsible party.

Write down the time of the accident and the location. Note what direction and street the driver fled. Also, get contact information from any witnesses.

Call the police and request a copy of the police report. Although there might not be a lot of information you can provide, a police report can help when filing an insurance claim.

Get photographs of your damaged vehicle. Take pictures of damaged property (i.e., light pole or fence) and debris (i.e., broken glass or vehicle parts). Photograph anything else of relevance, such as tire marks.

If the other driver is caught, file a claim with his/her insurance company. Contact your own insurer as well; you may be able to recover from your uninsured motorist coverage or other types of coverage on your policy. Look over your policy for options that may be available.

Regardless of whether the driver gets caught, it’s a good idea to seek legal advice if a hit and run results in serious or fatal injuries. An attorney may gather any evidence available and perform an investigation. Or the attorney might use the information later if the police end up locating the driver. This could allow for the recovery of damages in a personal injury lawsuit.

For a victim it could mean compensation for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, mental anguish and more. For the family of a loved one killed, it could allow the filing of a wrongful death claim. Some of the damages may include medical costs, funeral expenses, loss of consortium and more.

Call us at 678.324-8511;

E-mail us at Info@LawrenceLegal.Law; or 

Click here to schedule a consultation.

Georgia Hit And Run Laws (Part 1)

How Georgia Law Defines a Hit and Run Accident

The law states that drivers have a duty to stop or return to the scene of the collision. If the crash results in injury or death, the driver must immediately stop at or near the scene of the accident.  A failure to do so would constitute as a hit-and run.

Besides stopping at the scene of an accident, drivers must provide certain types of information:

  • name;
  • address; and
  • registration number of the vehicle driven.

And if requested by the driver or an occupant of the vehicle involved in the collision, drivers must provide their driver’s license number.

Drivers must render aid to anyone injured in the crash. This generally includes call 9-1-1 and requesting emergency services to transport the injured individual to the hospital.

Penalties in a Georgia Hit and Run Accident

Drivers face a misdemeanor charge for a hit and run, as long as no one suffered serious or fatal injuries. Fines can range between $300 and $1,000. It’s also possible to face up to 12 months imprisonment. With regard to his/her license, it could also include a stay, suspension or probation.

Drivers who leave the scenes of accidents that result in serious or fatal injuries face felony charges. Imprisonment could be from one to five years.

Of course, if the driver is caught, the injured victim or the victim’s family could also pursue legal action against the hit and run driver. To protect a future claim, it’s important to know what to do after a hit and run accident in Atlanta.

Call us at 678.324-8511;

E-mail us at Info@LawrenceLegal.Law; or 

Click here to schedule a consultation.

TOP